Simple Email Marketing
Home > Have a question? We're here to help. > Account how-to > Edit, archive or delete a contact

Edit, archive or delete a contact

Contacts can update their own subscription details through a manage preferences form, but you can also edit contact records yourself. Additionally, you can archive or delete a contact from your audience, as explained below.

Edit a contact record

Follow these instructions:

  1. Open the Audience section in your account.
  2. On the Contacts page, use the search field to find the contact's email address.
  3. Click on the contact's email address to view their contact record, then click Edit.

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 10.15.31 AM.png

  1. When finished, click Save.

You can also bulk-update existing contacts during the import process.

Add or remove a contact from a group

When editing a contact record, you can add or remove a contact from a single group or from all groups. Follow these instructions:

  1. From the Audience > Contacts page, search for the contact you want to edit.
  2. Click on the contact’s email address to view their contact record, then click Edit.
  3. In the Groups section, tick or untick the box next to the group you want to add or remove the contact from.

Screen Shot 2018-08-29 at 9.48.18 AM.png

  1. When finished, click Save.

Archive versus delete

If you have contacts that you no longer want to send emails to, you can archive them, or optionally delete them for permanent removal from your account. In most cases we suggest archiving, so that you have the option to restore them to active status if needed.

Archiving a contact removes them from any groups or segments they were in, and they will not count toward your total for billing purposes..

It’s generally best to leave all opt-out addresses in your account. Emma will always remember that they’ve opted out, so even if you delete someone and re-import them, their status will remain as opt-out.

Archive a contact

Follow these instructions:

  1. From the Audience > Contacts page, search for the contact you want to archive.
  2. Click the down arrow to the far right of their email address, then select Archive.
  3. In the popup window, click Archive.

You can archive multiple contacts by selecting the checkbox next to more than one email address. Then click the Actions menu, then select Archive.

Delete a contact

Follow these instructions:

  1. Click on your name in the top right and select Archived items from the dropdown menu.
  2. Select the Contacts at the top of the page.
  3. Tick the checkbox next to the contact you want to delete.
  4. Click the Actions dropdown menu and select Delete.

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 1.51.45 PM.png

  1. In the popup window, click Delete to complete the action.

Deleting a contact will permanently delete all of the contact's data from your account, and this cannot be undone.

Restore a contact

It's not possible to restore a deleted contact, but you can restore archived contacts. Follow these instructions:

  1. Click on your name at the top right of your account, then select Archived items from the dropdown menu.
  2. Select Contacts at the top of the page.
  3. Tick the checkbox next to the contact you want to restore.
  4. Click the Actions dropdown menu, then select Restore.

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 1.51.45 PM.png

  1. In the popup window, click I understand to complete the action.

You can restore all contacts archived on a specific date by clicking the Restore menu to the far right.

Restored contacts do not retain group membership and will be left "in limbo". You can use the segment builder to find these limbo contacts. To create a limbo segment, select Segments form your Audience tab. Select Group as "Segment type", leave the operator as "In", and choose Limbo (not in any group) for "Condition"

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Announcements

Emma phone support will be unavailable on November XX, between the hours of XX:XX and XX:XX. You can still contact support using the link above and we will respond as soon as we can.

App status