Simple Email Marketing
Home > Resource Center > Account how-to > Editing or archiving a contact record

Editing or archiving a contact record

How to edit a contact's information

  1. On the Audience page, type the contact's email address into the search box at the top-right corner. You can also search by a contact's first or last name.
  2. From the search results, select View this contact's record from the options menu beside the appropriate name.
  3. Make your changes and click Save when you're done.
    Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 10.15.31 AM.png

How to remove someone from one or more groups

You can delete someone from a single group or from every group.

  1. While you're viewing the group, place a checkmark beside the contact(s) you want to remove.
  2. At the top of the screen, click Actions and then select Remove from Group or Archive to remove from all groups & your audience.
    Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 10.17.23 AM.png

 

Keep in mind that deleting contacts from within a group and removing an entire group (from the main Audience page) are two different actions. Removing a group is like removing a basket that holds those contacts. If the contacts in the group you remove don't exist in any other groups, they will be in Limbo, meaning they're not in any groups and will not be represented in the list of groups. You can view your entire audience (including limbo contacts) by heading to the Contacts section of the Audience page.

What about archiving errors and opt-outs?

People are typically moved into Error status for either an invalid email address format or due to delivery issues. In some cases, it won’t be an email address at all -- It could be the header rows from your imported spreadsheets. People are listed on the Opt-out tab after they've opted out of your mailings or after you've manually marked them as an opt-out.

Here's what we suggest about deleting errors and opt-outs:

  • Feel free to delete any entries that are simply header rows from your imports. These were never valid email addresses, and you won’t have a need to look them up in the future. When importing, you can also select to skip the header row so it doesn't import.
  • If you see any email addresses that were format errors and you know that they’ve since been corrected in another entry, those may also be deleted. You may or may not decide to delete delivery errors, but we suggest leaving them as is.
  • It’s generally best to leave all opt-out addresses in your account. Emma will always remember that they’ve opted out, so even if you delete someone and re-import them, they will remain as an opt-out.

Helpful tip

There are a few reasons to keep these entries around. Email addresses listed on the Error or Opt-out tab are typically there for a reason. Emma will never send to those addresses, and you're not being charged for them, so keeping them on file isn’t doing any harm.

Second, when you delete a record, you are deleting its history as well, so if you need to look it up in the future, it won’t be available unless you restore it from Archived Items. There may be times when someone contacts you to ask why they haven’t received your emails, and if they had been listed as in Error or Opt-out but were deleted, you'll have to search for them.

Also, if a person has been deleted and tries to sign up for your newsletter again, they will get a message requesting that they reach out to the account owner to be re-added to your account. Had they not been deleted, this process would go through seamlessly.

Is it required to keep these addresses in your account? Not at all. But we tend to think it's easier to keep them around.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.