Simple Email Marketing
Home > Resource Center > Guide to Automation > How to use the automation workflow builder

How to use the automation workflow builder

 

Emma Pro customers can activate one workflow (all other plans include unlimited workflows).  For access to more workflows, get in touch with us at upgrade@myemma.com!

Emma’s Automation tools let you automatically send targeted emails to your subscribers based on actions that they’re taking (like signing up or clicking links in your emails) and important milestones in their customer journey (such as birthdays, anniversaries, or account updates). You can create workflows to send emails and email series to your subscribers based on those actions and events. And with branching logic, you can create sophisticated, multi-email series that send your subscribers different messages based on how they interact with previous emails in a series. 

Triggers

Subscribers will enter your workflow by way of a trigger event. This trigger event is often an action that is taken by the subscriber (like a link click in one of your emails). But updates to a subscriber’s contact record can also be used as trigger events, as can important dates that you’re stored for them on their contact record. Here are the trigger events that are currently available:

  • Signup: Triggers a workflow when someone signs up from a form or integration

  • Date-based: Triggers based on a date stored in a contact's record: birthday, anniversary, appointment, etc.

  • Field change: Triggers when the data within a field in a contact's record is updated, like if their Purchase Total field changes from $50 to $100 and you want to target them differently

  • Link click: Triggers when someone clicks a link in a mailing you've sent or scheduled

  • Custom API Event: (Plus and Premium accounts only): Trigger based on activity that’s being logged and shared from another platform (like a payment gateway, shopping cart or CRM service).

 

Workflow Steps

Once a contact in your audience enters a workflow, they’ll follow the steps of that workflow in the order that you lay them out. If you want to send users down different paths based on how they’re interacting with earlier messages in the workflow, branching logic will let you automatically check for specific interactions before deciding which message they should receive next.

  • Send Email: Send an email to your contact. You can to customize the subject line, from name and from address of your email.
  • Wait: Wait a specified amount of time before moving to the next step. Use this to add delays between email sends and other actions.
  • Branch workflow (Plus and Premium accounts only):Branch your workflow into two separate paths based on whether or not contacts have opened a previous mailing in your workflow, or clicked a link within a previous mailing in your workflow. Branching is only available after either a “wait” step or a different branch step.

 

 

Filtering your workflow by audience

You can filter the audience for your automated workflow if you only want certain contacts to be eligible to receive it. You can choose to filter your audience to only contacts in specific groups or segments. If you select multiple groups or segments for a workflow, contacts will enter the workflow if they belong to any group or segment that you’ve chosen. If contacts move out of the groups or segments that you’ve specified for your workflow, they will no longer receive the emails in that workflow. This is a great way to make sure that people don’t receive messages in your workflow if they take an action that makes that workflow no longer relevant to them (such as if they make the purchase that you’re prompting them to complete, or if they activate the account that you’re trying to persuade them to activate).

 

Activating/deactivating your workflow

Once you’ve activated your workflow, you will not be able to edit the trigger type, wait times or selected emails. You can still make changes to the workflow’s audience, edit the subject line and from name of emails, and edit the content of emails in your workflow from the “Campaigns” section.

Deactivating your workflow will immediately remove all contacts from it. No additional emails will be sent.  These recipients will not pick up where they left off if you reactivate the workflow.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
09:31, 25 Apr 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.